Grevillea (Spider Flower; Silky Oak)

Grevillea is a genus of about 350 species of flowering plants in the Proteaceae family, primarily native to Australia.
These shrubs or trees are highly valued for their exotically shaped, vividly colored and nectar-rich flowers. Their flowerheads, which open at varying times, are composed of many small flowers that come in a wide range of colors. These unique evergreen plants come in all shapes and sizes and have an extremely long season of bloom. They’re also an excellent choice if you want to attract wildlife to your garden.

Name meaning

The genus was named in honor of British antiquarian, collector and politician Charles Francis Greville (1749-1809).

Grevillea symbolism

Grevillea is a sign of true love, calmness and faith.

Interesting facts about Grevillea

Are Grevilleas Older Than Dinosaurs?

Grevilleas belong to the Proteaceae family which is comprised of about 80 genera and 1500 species including ProteasBanksias and Hakeas.

These plants existed on the supercontinent Gondwana over 50 million years ago and have an ancestry older than dinosaurs!

Today, more than 300 species of Grevilleas can be found in Australia, New Guinea and Indonesia.

Is Grevillea Poisonous?

Some species, such as Grevillea robusta, contain toxic cyanide that can induce intoxication in humans and can trigger itching, redness and rashes.

Benefits and Uses of Grevillea

Some species have been used by Aborigines as a source of food. They used to make a sweet drink by mixing nectar with water.

Grevilleas are often cultivated as ornamentals and are sometimes used to produce valuable wood.

Silky Oak (Grevillea robusta)

The name “Silky Oak” is given to a number of different genera and species in Australia, but originally refers to the Grevillea robusta.

Grevillea robusta is an evergreen tree which can reach up to 35 m (115 ft) in height, though it’s most likely to be 25 m (80 ft) or less.

It has fern-like green leaves and attractive golden flowers.
Grevillea robusta is one of the best nectar producers. Its sweet nectar attracts insects, birds and marsupials.

This plant has been used for the manufacture of furniture, interior woodwork, cabinetry, decorative veneers, fences, gunstocks and guitars.
The wood was traditionally referred to as “Lacewood” in its native Australia. The term “Lacewood” is used to describe any wood produced from a number of different wood species, such as Cardwellia sublimis, Lagetta lagetto, Platanus occidentalis, Roupala montana and Grevillea robusta.

Grevillea Plant Data